BiH election watchdog announces fresh preliminary election results

NEWS 03.10.202212:00 0 komentara

Bosnians exited the polls Sunday in what was a tight race for some candidates and what continues to be undetermined for others.

Last night the BiH Central Election Commission (CEC) said that after counting some 50% of the votes Denis Becirovic from the centre-left Social Democratic Party (SDP) won the seat for the Bosniak Presidency member and Zeljka Cvijanovic, an ally of Milorad Dodik who leads the Alliance of Independent Social Democrats (SNSD) won the seat for Serb member of Bosnia’s tripartite Presidency. However, despite proclaiming victory earlier that night, the CEC said that Borjana Kristo from the centre-right Croat Democratic Party (HDZ) took the lead over Zeljko Komsic, from the centre-left Democratic Front (DF).

On Monday, the CEC BiH confirmed that Becirovic, Cvijanovic and Komsic are indeed the winners of the election, according to preliminary results after counting 84.75% of the ballots.

When it comes to the position of the President of the Serb-dominated Republika Srpska (RS) entity, Milorad Dodik, known for his secessionist rhetoric is in the lead over the opposition candidate Jelena Trivic from the centre-right Party of Democratic Progress (PDP) with 48.8 % to 42.69% of the vote.

Speaking about the results for the State Parliament, Bosnia has two Election units – the RS and the Bosniak-Croat shared Federation (FBiH) entity.

When it comes to the RS, the SNSD has the most votes with 202,312 (42.44%). It is followed by SDS with 89,763 (18.83 %) votes, PDP with 53,257 (11.17 %), Nebojsa Vukanovic's list with 24,984 (5.24 %).


In the FBiH entity, the SDA is the clear leader with over 140,000 votes, followed by the coalition HDZ BIH, HSS, HSP BIH, HKDU, HSPAS, HDU, HSPHB, HRAST – which, according to the latest results, achieved 109,743 votes.

They are followed by SDP and DF.

N1 BiH

Kakvo je tvoje mišljenje o ovome?

Budi prvi koji će ostaviti komentar!