BiH ambassadors and consuls from RS entity refuse to mark Independence Day


Ambassadors and consuls of Bosnia and Herzegovina from the country’s Republika Srpska (RS) entity refused to follow the instruction of the Foreign Affairs Ministry, issued by Minister Elmedin Konakovic, regarding the celebration of the Independence Day of Bosnia and Herzegovina.

The ambassadors and consuls from the RS also signed a statement in which they accuse Konakovic of “abusing his position” and following in the footsteps of his predecessor, Bisera Turkovic.


The ambassadors and consuls in question are Aleksandar Vranjes, Biljana Gutic Bjelica, Bojan Vujic, Bojana Kondic Panic, Boro Bronza, Vera Sajic, Dragan Jacimovic, Dusko Kovacevic, Zeljko Samardzija, Zdravko Begovic, Koviljka Spiric, Marko Milisav, Milica Ristovic Krstic, Milorad Zivkovic, Sinisa Bencun, Sinisa Berjan, Sinisa Mihailovic and Slavisa Ceranic.

As opposed to the Federation (FBiH) entity, where BiH Independence Day is being observed, in Republika Srpska, March 1 is a regular working day as usual.

The Prime Minister of the RS, Radovan Viskovic, said that “the Serb people will never accept March 1 as Independence Day” because “the will of a people was brutally trampled on that day”.

RS President Milorad Dodik said that “it is not a BiH holiday, least of all the Independence Day.”

“It is a tragic day in the history of Serbs in this region,” he said.

Komentari (0)

Vidi sve komentare